Arbutus Cove…..

Distance and echoes
and the footprints left by time
are all that remain;

as if an ocean’s tide had ebbed
never to return.
A curiosity, like a ship sinking
beneath the morning horizon; and I wonder, for a moment,
if I’ll ever see it again;
then, the next moment,
unable to remember if it ever existed:

a memory
soon lost, like the stars that hide themselves
child-like,
behind the brilliant curtain in the living room of the new day.
They’re there or are they?

Of course, he still exists, his heart beating
behind a chest wall somewhere in this world,
a pulsation that is now indiscernible
from all the other hearts and chest walls beating.

I breathe;

heart chambers return from contraction,
blood flows;
my chest wall relaxes and pulls the ocean back from its ebb,
baptizing my feet,
my mind,
my soul.

I look for the stars,
the ship on the horizon,
his footprints left in the sand,
and the memory of his face;

but all I see is the ocean,
and he is not there.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

