There’s being polite…

and then there’s flat out lying to save face.

I guess I’m considered kind of an A-hole, ‘cos I won’t save face. If I don’t want to see you again, or do something, I will just say so. If I don’t like something or somebody, I will just say so.
I like to think it saves me the trouble of having to come up with excuses later on. I’ve been told I lack tact, and, well, I can’t deny that. I tried tact once and decided a long time ago that I didn’t want any.

The only need to lie, as far as I can see, is so that I avoid the flack I get for being honest. If being by myself most of the time is the price I have to pay for honesty, I’ll pay it. If I have to lie, even if it’s just a white lie, to be somebody’s friend, I don’t want to.

Of course we all lie. Every single one of us. Even me. I’m just no good at it & pretty much anybody can see right through any lie I try to tell.

Not really sure where I’m going with this post, it’s just been on my mind today – I hate it when people tell me one thing, but, show me another.
“Yeah, I’ll be right over”….five hours later, they’re not around
“I’ll give you a call next week”…..don’t hear from them for a month
“Of course, I want to see you again”….nada

People, I’d have far more respect for you if you just said what you meant & meant what you said.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. therollaway
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 11:40:43

    I hear that all too well. I don’t get it. don’t you feel sometimes as if you’re living in just one big charade? I’m glad someone is aware of this. It seems all too rare today.

    Reply

  2. Logan
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 04:04:15

    Something I come across everyday. My being open about my thoughts has got me labeled as Stubborn, ‘not-a-team-player’, bossy in office. It hurts at times, to be lonely, but most times, I am glad because that gives me a chance to be exactly myself without being worried about pretending to be someone that I am absolutely not.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

