Long Distance Love

I could hardly contain the butterfies I felt as I waited for the mailman at the top of our stairs. It was an afternoon ritual I had for Tuesdays and Thursdays, I would race home from school, the goal was to beat the mailman to my house, my competitive streak would never let me lose. Kind of silly when I think about it, gives me a bit of a chuckle.
Ah, but, you never forget your first love. For two swimming seasons I dated and wrote to my first love, being from different towns, to my head-in-the-clouds teenage mind, made it romantic and exciting. Not being able to see him whenever I wanted always gave me something to look forward to. In the summer I worked hard to compete every weekend, not only did I look forward to competing, I got to see my love.
It was sweet, the encouragement we gave each other during competition, we’d go for lunch or to the movies or sometimes just hang out. Always fun, no drama, no jealousy or conflict. Life is so grand when you’re 13 and your biggest worry is if your parents will let you go to the movies with your friends on Friday night or not.
I look back on that first love with a wistful sigh, wishing I could go back to that carefree me who always looked forward to something without having to search for it. Of course that relationship is a major influence on every single one since. I tend to be attracted to men who aren’t easily attainable or available, if they live in another city, even better. I haven’t decided if this is an okay thing or if it’s just a twisted masochistic tendency.
P.S. You’ll always have a special place in my heart, glad we still write each other once in awhile. =)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. andy1076
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 11:20:48

    Cute 🙂

    Reply

  2. create a Transformers style text animation
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 05:43:45

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab
    inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

