Closing the Door…..

We stood in my kitchen, shyly facing one another, he gave me a calculating look as if measuring me up as he dipped the spoon into the DQ blizzard cup.

“Oreo cookies n creme first kiss?” He asked.

Without waiting for an answer he swept me into his arms and I was lost.

Lost in all that was The Jester.  He knew I had recently gotten out of an extremely abusive relationship.  He knew how nervous I was, how insecure and afraid of getting stuck in another abusive situation.

He took all those self doubts and insecurities and wrapped them up in the warm blanket of his loving arms.  The Jester showed me once again how to feel alive and happy.

Ours was an on-again-off-again sort of relationship, off only because of the distance between us, we went our separate ways a few times and became involved with others in our home towns.  But, we still had that deep bond, that wonderfully delicious feeling you get when you’re with somebody who just KNOWS you, who thinks the same thing you do at the same time, who feels what you feel, even if you’re miles apart.

In my darkest moments, when I thought I had no more strength inside to carry on, all he had to do was whisper to me “Don’t be sad” and poof, I wasn’t.

I adored everything about him, worshipped the ground he walked on, would have done nearly anything for him.  And I thought he felt the same way.  He said he did.

The last time I saw him was the night of December 8th, 2012.  The day he left my life forever.  He had left me and Port Alberni the month before, but came back to sort out some legal issues and I guess to say goodbye.

He held me tight and kissed me gently. I could almost taste the oreo cookies and creme.

I knew, at that moment that this was really GoodBye Forever, as he promised to come back on time for Christmas.

I turned away and shuffled down the stairs, weeping. Great sobs bursting out as I closed the door and walked away from one of the happiest times of my life.

So long friend, I’ll never forget you.  Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

